i’ve never been to me

http://www.michaelhogg.btinternet.co.uk/gce/tabs/charlene_never_been_to_me.txt

#----------------------------------PLEASE NOTE----------------------------------#
# This file is the author's own work and represents their interpretation of the #
# song. You may only use this file for private study, scholarship, or research. #
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------#

Title:      I've Never Been To Me
Artist:     Charlene
Tuning:     Standard (EADGBE)
Capo:       3rd fret
Tabbed by:  Michael Hogg
Date:       27th July 2003
Website:    www.michaelhogg.btinternet.co.uk/gce/tabs/

[Intro]
E|----------10-------------|----------10-------------|
B|-------------------------|-------------------------|
G|-9--11--9-------9--11----|-9--11--9-------9--11----|
D|-0-----------7---------7-|-0-----------7---------7-|
A|-------------------------|-------------------------|
E|-------------------------|-------------------------|

[Verse 1]
Dsus2           Cadd9
      Hey lady,       you lady
G         D/F#    Em   D
  Cursing at your life
         Am    G      D/F#   D
You're a discontented mother
      Em
And a regimented wife
C                   D
  I've no doubt you   dream about
    G          D/F#  Em  D
The things you never do
      A7
But I wish someone had talked to me
       Cadd9
Like I       wanna talk to you

[Chorus]
D         G                   D/F#
Ooh, I've been to Georgia and California
    Em                  Bm
And    anywhere I could run
C                  G/B
Took the hand of a preacher man
       Am7                  D
And we     made love in the sun
          G                   D/F#
But I ran   out of places and friendly faces
  Em                Bm
Because I had to be free
C            G/B                Am7               G
I've been to paradise, but I've     never been to me
D Cadd9 G   (G F#m Em)

[Verse 2]
D              Cadd9
  Please lady,       please lady
G            D/F#  Em  D
  Don't just walk away
         Am        G       D/F#     D
'Cause I have this need to tell you
        Em
Why I'm all alone today
C              D
  I can see so much of me
G            D/F#    Em   D
Still living in your eyes
          A7
Won't you share a part of a weary heart
         Cadd9
That has lived a million lives?

[Chorus]
D        G                    D/F#
Oh, I've been to Nice and the isle of Greece
        Em                    Bm
Where I sipped champagne on a yacht
  C                    G/B
I moved like Harlow in Monte Carlo
    Am7                  D
And showed 'em what I've got
            G                         D/F#
I've been undressed by kings and I've seen some things
       Em                     Bm
That a woman ain't s'posed to see
C            G/B                Am7               G
I've been to paradise, but I've     never been to me

[Bridge -- repeat G D C D throughout]
Hey, you know what paradise is?  It's a lie
A fantasy we create about people and places
As we'd like them to be
But you know what truth is?
It's that little baby you're holding
And it's that man you fought with this morning
The same one you're going to make love with tonight
That's truth, that's love

[Chorus]
D                G                  D/F#
  Sometimes I've been to crying for unborn children
     Em                    Bm
That might have made me complete
       C
But I... I took the sweet life
  G/B               Am7             D
I never knew I'd be bitter from the sweet
           G                  D/F#
I spent my life exploring the subtle whoring
     Em                  Bm
That cost too much to be free, hey lady...
C         G/B                   Am7   D       G
I've been to paradise, but I've never been to me
D/F#  Em  Bm

[Outro, fade out]
> C            G/B      Am7
  I've been to paradise
>                  G                   D/F#
  (Never been to   me)
                   Been to Georgia and California
>     Em                  Bm
  And    anywhere I could run
> C            G/B      Am7
  I've been to paradise
>                  G                    D/F#
  (Never been to   me)
                   Been to Nice and the isle of Greece
>         Em                    Bm
  Where I sipped champagne on a yacht
> C            G/B      Am7
  I've been to paradise
>                  G                  D/F#
  (Never been to   me)
                   Been to crying for unborn children
>      Em                    Bm
  That might have made me complete
> C            G/B      Am7                G
  I've been to paradise     (never been to me)
Leave a Reply

